Ernestina
1 min readJun 28, 2021

ERNIE AND ERNESTINA: The Writer, His Wife, and their Afterlife

Book One, Part Two, Chapter 91: Bella Hops

Bella knocks on my door this afternoon. A faint blush tints her ivory cheeks.

“I sold eight hundred dollars in jewelry today. If my friend Joyce buys the jade-and-diamond ring, and my friend Susan buys the sapphire-and-diamond bracelet, I’ll be debt-free, all my charge cards paid off.” She hops up and down, hugging herself. “I feel so much lighter.”

I open wide my door. “Come in. I’m heating ginger-and-garlic sauce for my pasta. Let me turn off the burner.”

Bella’s already eaten, and it doesn’t bother her that I eat my lunch in front of her. She tells me about the jewelry-designing couple who looked at her goods yesterday and bought a sterling-silver necklace today, along with several other pieces. “I don’t need them. I never wore them. I won’t miss them.”

Bella’s gotten herself out of debt. She hops. She hugs herself. She feels lighter.

Feeling lighter? Maybe I’ll get there, too.

Ernestina

My writer husband’s favorite nickname for me was Ernestina, so in this 2-book memoir, he is Ernie. This is his story, our story, and my story. I invite you in.